PDA

View Full Version : Something strange


Blade
01-20-2004, 04:54 PM
I turned the computer on, and looked in my favourites, and noticed there were two new folders, names 'Adult sites' and 'free adult content' respectively. When you enter these folders, they come up with numerous folders with 'Asian', 'Latin', etc, which contain a few web pages each that supposedly link you to immoral images.

Well, I'm not an idiot, and I went to one of these pages in my links, right clicked on it, and I looked at the target, which happened to be 'http://www.slotch.com/ist/scripts/ist_shortcuts (The rest of the target address is cut off).

Just a question, what is this? I know it would be something bad, but is it a script that harms my computer, and why is it coming up? Answers would be greatly appreciated.

genesis
01-20-2004, 04:57 PM
It looks like a malicious script instead of a pr0n page of some sort. Scan and Kill, run spyware as well.

deadmeat
01-20-2004, 05:06 PM
is it a new file do you use your favorite list all the time when did you last put any thing in your favorite fold if you know the date check your history it may jog you memory to where you may have got the file from in any case delete the file and run a scan ......

genesis
01-20-2004, 05:25 PM
Yup! And also I'm moving this to computer chat forum.

bl0ss0m
01-20-2004, 06:47 PM
Running adaware or spybot will remove any scripts, but you may have to remove those links yourself.

Blade
01-20-2004, 07:59 PM
Thanks for the advice guys. When my father comes home in a few days or so I will get him to do a check, and install the latest VET software.

deadmeat - since I use the buttons on my logitech keyboard, I don't look at my favourites too much, but I know they haven't been there for long.

ghost of delete key
01-20-2004, 09:04 PM
Heh, I don't see these too frequently, but somewhere you came across a browser hijacker that quietly dumped those links in your favorites folder, and yeah, they often link you to the URL's of malicious scripts. One time I got one that installed itself as my homepage in IE and would start automatically opening pages in new windows. Another one once installed a dialer to a German pr0n netwerk which completely and silently disabled my usual network profile. Both of these just slipped in without being detected as viruses or trojans, etc. since of course, they're not.
If you were really bent on pinpointing exactly when they showed up, just rightclick for properties, and you could compare the creation times against your browser's history to see what link likely did you in. Add that domain to your plonkfile, and be done with it.
And just what bl0ss0m said... AdAware & SpybotS&D, if need be, delete the bad links and folders from Favorites, and if you have Norton System Works (or just Utilities) you can run Windows Doctor and see if the registry then has any little uglies running around trying to point to the missing links.

Esperanto_Boy
01-23-2004, 02:51 AM
Originally posted by Blade@Jan 20 2004, 10:54 PM
I turned the computer on, and looked in my favourites, and noticed there were two new folders, names 'Adult sites' and 'free adult content' respectively. When you enter these folders, they come up with numerous folders with 'Asian', 'Latin', etc, which contain a few web pages each that supposedly link you to immoral images.

Well, I'm not an idiot, and I went to one of these pages in my links, right clicked on it, and I looked at the target, which happened to be 'http://www.slotch.com/ist/scripts/ist_shortcuts (The rest of the target address is cut off).

Just a question, what is this? I know it would be something bad, but is it a script that harms my computer, and why is it coming up? Answers would be greatly appreciated.
Sounds like spyware has got the better of you.

Download the latest version of Lavasoft's Ad-Aware. ^_^

Blade
01-23-2004, 05:08 AM
Dam...

It amazes me how stupid some people can be, I mean why would someone go to the trouble of putting 'free adult sites' on your desktop, for nothing in return, when you can get them free of the internet anyway? :mellow: